Annual General Meeting Update

We’re pleased to announce that seven new board members have been chosen to sit on the Cape Breton Music Industry Cooperative’s board of directors. New board members were chosen by popular vote at the CBMIC annual general meeting, which took place on the 27th of July, 2015. Our new members include, Steve Antle, Nicole Morrison, Chris McDonald, Joel Inglis and Malcolm MacLeod. Returning to our board is James O’Neill and John Ellingbo.

We at the Cape Breton Music Industry Cooperative would like to extend our most sincere thanks to Heather Gillis, Jenni Welsh & Laura Mercer for their time spent on the CBMIC board of directors. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours and hope to work with you again in the future.


Reminder: Notice of Annual General Meeting

The Cape Breton Music Industry Cooperative will host its Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, July 28th, 2015. The meeting will take place in the Chapel at the New Dawn Center for Social Innovation (The former Holy Angels Convent) located at 170 George Street, Sydney, at 7:00pm. Light refreshments will be served. New and existing members are encouraged to attend.

CBMIC will be filling 7 positions on its board of directors. Nominations have been open since May 14th, and will continue to be accepted from the floor at the Annual General Meeting.

Voting will be determined by popular vote from members in good standing in attendance at the Annual General Meeting.


Music NS Accepting Applications For Music & Industry Award Nominations

Music Nova Scotia is now accepting applications for music and industry award nominations for the 2015 Music Nova Scotia Awards until Monday, July 27 at 5:00 p.m. ADT. No extensions will be given so all applications must be in on time.  You must be a Music Nova Scotia member in good standing at the time you apply. To submit an application for an award nomination for any category, please visit http://nsmw.ca.

Please click the following link (http://nsmw.ca/docs/NSMW2015.awardsmanual.pdf) to read the 2015 Music Nova Scotia Awards Manual and ensure your submission(s) fulfill the criteria required for your nominee. The cost to submit is $30, HST included. Submissions can be paid online through PayPal, which will accept a PayPal account or a credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover).  You do not need to have a PayPal account to pay with a credit card.  Once you make your PayPal payment, you will be given a PayPal transaction ID number which will give you access to the online submission form.  If you cannot use PayPal, please contact our Member Relations / Operations Manager Lisa Stitt (mailto:lisa@musicnovascotia.ca)(902.423.0291) to pay by cheque, in the office with any method (debit, cash, etc.) Once you make your payment, Lisa will provide you with access to the nomination form which will bypass the PayPal submission form.

Music Nova Scotia may present awards in fifty (50) categories.

Music Awards (29 categories)

All Nova Scotian artists who are members in good standing and have released recordings between January 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015 are eligible to submit for the 2015 Music Nova Scotia Awards. There are eight (8) categories that do not require a recording: Aboriginal Artist of the Year, Acadian/Francophone Artist of the Year, African Nova Scotian Artist of the Year, DJ of the Year, Electronic Artist of the Year, Entertainer of the Year, Musician of the Year and Digital Artist of the Year. You are not eligible to be nominated for the same recording two years in a row.

Industry Awards (21 categories)

The Music Nova Scotia Industry Awards recognize the achievements and contributions of our industry professionals and leaders from across Nova Scotia over the past year. These awards celebrate the people and companies who are working to build a strong and vibrant Nova Scotia music industry. All Music Nova Scotia members in good standing are eligible to submit.

The final Music and Industry nominees will be decided upon by a peer jury of esteemed local professionals with expertise in the music industry of Nova Scotia. Music Nova Scotia staff are not members of this jury, and do not contribute to the selection of the final ballot for nominees.


Nominees who are members of Music Nova Scotia will receive a complimentary delegate pass to Molson Canadian Nova Scotia Music Week 2015 (NSMW), which offers access to all showcases (subject to capacity), the conference and the Late Night Stage, as well as the special NSMW delegate rate from our hotel partners (see www.nsmw.ca (http://www.nsmw.ca/) for details).

If you are not currently a member you can purchase a Discounted Delegate pass through Lisa Stitt. (lisa@musicnovascotia.ca(mailto:lisa@musicnovascotia.ca) , 902.423.0291)  If you become a member of Music Nova Scotia you will receive a complimentary delegate pass for your nomination.

The nominees in each category will be announced on September 1, 2015. Voting for all awards will also open on this date. Only current members are eligible to nominate and vote. Update your Music Nova Scotia membership now (http://www.musicnovascotia.ca/join) .

Winners will be announced at Molson Canadian Nova Scotia Music Week in Yarmouth, NS, November 5-8, 2015.

For more information on NSMW, please visit www.nsmw.ca (http://www.nsmw.ca/) .
For any other submission enquiries, please contact:

Serge Samson (mailto:serge@musicnovascotia.ca)
Event and Member Training Manager
Music Nova Scotia
(902) 423-4153


Skip to toolbar